Security groups
  • 05 May 2020
  • 2 Minutes To Read
  • Print
  • Share
  • Dark
    Light

Security groups

  • Print
  • Share
  • Dark
    Light

Security groups allow you to pre-define and assign sets of permissions for team members that perform the same types of tasks of roles.

Premium feature

Security groups are a premium feature available in Enterprise and Enterprise+ plans.

For example, say The Babel Company uses Document360 and Babel’s technical writing team has just finished doc-ing a series of new features, as well as improvements to features, for an upcoming release. These documents are not public yet, but using these docs as a source of truth, Babel’s product marketing team is writing new marketing copy for the release. At the same time, customer support is using the documents to prep their team. Not only are they reading about the new features, they’re also comparing and contrasting the improved features against their old versions so they can help Babel’s users better understand what’s changed.

While customer support needs access to the new feature documentation, improved feature documentation, as well as any relevant documentation in previous versions of the product, product marketing only needs the new version.

Using Document360’s security groups, Babel’s project admin could create a Product Marketing group and a Customer Support group. The project admin would then give the poduct marketing group access to either only the newest version of the project documentation or, even more simply, just the category containing the new feature documents. The customer support group would get full project access. Each group would be assigned their own team role depending on the needs of the teams. Once these groups were configured, the project admin would add each team member to their specific group.


Adding a new security group

  1. Navigate to Settings and then click Team Management.
  2. Select the Security Groups tab.
  3. Click Add new group.
  4. Give the group a practical name and description.
  5. Click Select Users, and select the users you wish to add to the security group.
  6. Configure the desired role and documentation access settings.
  7. Click Add.

Editing a security group’s permission set

  1. Navigate to Settings and then click Team Management.
  2. Select the Security Groups tab.
  3. Click the pencil/edit icon.
  4. Make the desired changes.
  5. Click Update.

Deleting a security group

  1. Navigate to Settings and then click Team Management.
  2. Select the Security Groups tab.
  3. Click the delete/trash can icon.

Add or remove a user to a security group

  1. Navigate to Settings and then click Team Management.
  2. Select the Security Groups tab.
  3. Select the pencil/edit icon of the security group in which you want to add the user.
  4. To add a user, click Select Users, and select the user you wish to add.
  5. To remove a user, click Select Users, and deselect the user you want to remove from the group, or, under Selected Users, click the delete/trash icon.
Was This Article Helpful?